As is often my pleasure and practice, I spent a great deal of time yesterday reading LGBTQ articles online. I must admit that I experienced the entire gamut of human emotions. My sensitive spirit and artistic mind will never understand “othering,” bigotry, and unbridled hatred. It is extremely easy to give into the words of others. Remember that everything you read is an argument. Yeah, that’s right; what you are reading at this very moment is an argument. Allow yourself to receive the words of others with the proverbial “grain of salt.” Sometimes, I read articles and feel empowered. Other times, I read articles and feel destroyed. Ultimately, I remember that I am an individual. I reject the programming of others’ beliefs and  control mechanisms. I dare to be different in the face of opposition. I was born this way.

photo from pinknews.co.uk

Years ago, on 3 March 2006, reporters for the Pink Newasked George Clooney if he would ever play a gay cowboy. According to the news site, “Mr Clooney said he believed he had already played a gay character, ‘I was in a rubber suit and I had rubber nipples. I could have played Batman straight, but I made him gay’” (Brokebat Mountain). Recently, Clooney went a step further to say that he would never deny rumors about his being gay: “I’m not going to let anyone make it seem like being gay is a bad thing. My private life is private, and I’m very happy in it. Who does it hurt if someone thinks I’m gay? I’ll be long dead and there will still be people who say I was gay. I don’t give a shit.” Well, go ahead then, sir! In a sea of awful online articles about gays being less than pigs and the most recent gay teen suicides, Clooney was my own personal gay batman yesterday. He reminded me that we always have allies. We are never alone in the struggle for humanity. Read the full article: George Clooney: I will never deny gay rumours.

photo from pinknews.co.uk

Long have I enjoyed the greats of British Literature: Shakespeare, Marlowe, Aphra Behn, Mary Wollstonecraft, Mary Shelley, Jonathan Swift, Dryden, etc. Elizabeth I is my favorite monarch and political leader of all time. I have always loved the story of her father, Henry VIII. He did not agree with the church’s policy on divorce, so he created his own: The Church of England. Years later, Anglican Archbishop of Wales, Dr. Barry Morgan, gives “an impassioned plea for Anglicans to be more tolerant towards homosexuals” (Pink News). He says that “all life-long committed relationships deserve the welcome, pastoral care and support of the Church…. (Christians) need to show how the Gospel of Jesus is good news for gay people.” It is about time! Henry VIII was a smart man and clever king. His daughter was queen of the Golden Age, and his church is now considering gay marriage and equality as parts of its doctrine. Read the full article: Anglican Archbishop Of Wales backs same-sex marriage in UK. It really does get better. Never stop believing in your dreams or yourself!

Know yourself. Be yourself. Love yourself. ~*

About itbettergetbetter

This weblog is dedicated to anyone who has ever been bullied or victimized for being a free-thinking individual. The "It Better Get Better" space is a virtual environment originally created as a senior capstone research project by Matthew S. McQueen. The idea is to help the world get better by raising awareness and spreading love as an empowered media outlet and student of English, the Humanities, and Rhetoric.

Leave a Reply

